Alchemical art (warning: high bandwidth)
Card Zero
Posted 7/11/2007 12:04 AM (#2167)
Subject: Alchemical art (warning: high bandwidth)

I've been seeing so much wonderful metaphysical art lately that I felt obligated to post some of my own here. Perhaps it will help you with your own research and meditation! Feel free to post your thoughts here.

I've been working with spiritual alchemy as a theme for a few years now. Here's a recent painting of mine, with a short explanation (credit goes to the fine writers at Levity.com for the alchemy lesson):

"Transmutation"

The Pelican is often shown in alchemical texts stabbing its breast with its beak and nourishing its young with its own blood. The alchemist must enter into a kind of sacrificial relationship with his inner being. He must nourish with his own soul forces, the developing spiritual embryo within. Anyone who has made true spiritual development will know well this experience. One's image of one's self must be changed, transformed, sacrificed to the developing spiritual self. This is almost invariably a deeply painful experience, which tests one's inner resources. Out of this will eventually emerge the spiritual self, transformed through the Pelican experience.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Card Zero
Posted 7/11/2007 12:08 AM (#2168 - in reply to #2167)
Subject: RE: Alchemical art (warning: high bandwidth)

"Calcination"

Calcination is the first stage of alchemical transformation. It is the process of smelting spiritual dross, of purification by fire.
Card Zero
Posted 7/11/2007 12:10 AM (#2169 - in reply to #2167)

"Conjunction"