Study Tips
soulfire
Posted 4/30/2007 12:28 PM (#1792)
Subject: Study Tips

Alumni

Hello. I am a new student here and looking for study tips. It has been many years since I've been in any kind of school and I need to get back into the mode of studying/learning.
It embarrasses me that I feel so clueless, since I am educating my 3 children at home (oldest finished High school last year) and they seem to have no trouble. I even asked them how they study.

I am having no trouble understanding the material so far. My main concern is retention. I'm just afraid the info will go in one eye and out the other, so to speak. ~SF
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Supernatural3
Posted 5/1/2007 8:51 AM (#1797 - in reply to #1792)
Subject: RE: Study Tips

PhD Alumni

I am not a book smart person at all, i am purely street smart, so my way of normally learning was always visual or audio, which made it tough to get through all the courses here with so much reading. The one good thing is, they are all written well and do not talk to you like you are a NASA professor....lol so you are fine.

What i did was like open book testing, which helped me learn what i needed to. I went through the questions of the test and searched for the answers after i read it. (basically treated test at the end like a review) When i found what i was looking for, then i knew it by the time i was to take the test. I guess it's memorizing the test. Good teachers out there will let the students learn the KEY points on a review. Even my teachers in Electrical Engineering school passed out basically the same test, for us to study first, because the questions on it, were the most important things we needed to know. So it worked well. It's not about being able to read and memorize the entire thing... (or i would have failed)

I did learn a lot from all the audio sessions (Meditations) too.... a bonus.

I am sure you will do fine, don't let it overwhelm you!
HUGS

soulfire